KR250A race bike

The place to talk about your Tandem!
James P
Oil Injector

KR250A race bike

Post by James P »

I spotted this neat much-modified KR250A at the Barry Sheene Festival of Speed earlier today:

Has the swing arm been turned upside down? Wheels are possibly from a Suzuki (forgot to check).

I've no idea what bike the fairing and seat unit come from - anyone know?

Large :shock: radiator. Ignition appears to be total-loss battery type with (very) small rotor. Water pump also appears to be non-standard. I'm no expert on the KR250A - there are probably a lot of other non-standard parts!

Hole for kickstart shaft plugged. RGV carbs?

I didn't notice some of the features while I was taking the photographs - only when I looked at them in detail later. If I had noticed earlier, I could have asked the bloke who was pushing the bike around :( . I did look at the list of competitors for the event (which also listed the bikes), but couldn't find this bike among them.

Regards,
James
JanBros
Avgas Sniffer

Re: KR250A race bike

Post by JanBros »

fairing/seat-unit looks awfull imho :?
My ultimate goal is to die young as late as possible !
StrokerBoy
Premix Junkie

Post by StrokerBoy »

James P wrote:Large :shock: radiator.
Certainly is ! :lol:

It's possible that the standard swingarm has been inverted and then plated, or it might be off something else, looks well modified anyway. The whole thing has had a lot of work done in fact. Nice to see the anti-dive still in place, though it might be disconnected. :wink:

Many thanks for posting those pics, I love to see stuff like that. =D>
Kawasaki KR250 Tandem Twin (x4) & KS-II 80,
Yamaha RD350LC,
Suzuki GSX-R750RK & RB50 Gag.
smeg

Post by smeg »

The KR250 was at the Barry Scheene to be run in and setup,

Got the jetting done, it pulls clean through the gears and engine temp is good (didn't go bang), it will visit the Dyno sortly to check the ignition is setup correctly but so far so good.

ok, guys your pretty close.